With every passing day, more and more people are getting concerned about their privacy on this China-based platform. Users are not trusting TikTok with their data. If you also want to delete TikTok account, then here is a step by step guide on how you can do it.
Remember, once you delete your TikTok account, you won’t be able to recover it. This means you’ll not be able to get the videos back you posted or not able to login with the same credentials. If you are OK with this, let’s move one.
How to Delete your TikTok Account
It’s easy to delete your TikTok account and just take a few clicks here and there. Here’s how you can do it.
- Open the TikTok app and sign-in to your account.
- Click on “Me” at the bottom right corner of your screen.
- Tap three dots ahead of your name.
- Click on the “Manage My Account” option.
- Click on the “Delete My Account” button.
- A pop-up will appear. Click “Confirm” to delete your TikTok account.
There you have it. You have successfully severed your ties with the TikTok app.
Do this instead of Deleting your TikTok Account
Once you delete your account, you won’t be able to get it back by any means. Here are some things you can consider instead of deleting your TikTok account.
Set Account to Private
By default, your TikTok account is set to Public. This means anyone can see your videos and follow you. Once you set your account to private, only your followers will be able to see your videos. This way, you can control who can watch your video and who can’t. This is a better option than deleting your account as it allows you to limit your audience instead of losing them all.
Hide your Account
You can hide your account( in a sense) from other users by using the ‘Allow others to find me’ option. By doing this, Your account will not appear in the “friends suggestion” section of other users. This will limit the number of users who can see your account. You can find this option in the Privacy and Safety menu.
Consider these things before deleting TikTok Account
Before deleting your TikTok, consider these things, so you don’t end up regretting the decision you made in the first place.
1. Once deleted, you’ll not be able to login to that account again.
2. You’ll also lose all your data uploaded into that account.
4. Your messages and comments may still be visible to other users.
Whether you want to take a break from the TikTok app or you are done with it for good. This guide will take you through the whole process, step by step.