delete instagram account

Delete or deactivate Instagram account

If you need a guide on how to delete Instagram account or deactivate Instagram account, then dear reader, you are in the right place.

Maybe you are distressed about the recent  Instagram privacy breach case or just need a break from social media.

Whatever the reason is, in this article, you’re going to learn everything there is to know about deleting and deactivating the Instagram account.

You’ll learn to

  • Delete Instagram account
  • Deactivate Instagram account
  • Reactivate Instagram account

Let’s start. Shall we?

Read AlsoHow to Delete Instagram post

How to Delete Instagram Account summary

  1. Go to Instagram’s “Delete Your Account” webpage.
  2. Select the reason for deleting your Instagram account permanently from the drop-down menu.
  3. Re-enter your password for security purposes and click ‘Permanently delete my account.’

How to delete an Instagram account

Here is how you can delete your Instagram permanently.

  1. Log in to your Instagram account.
  2. There is no deleting account option available on the Instagram app. So you’ll need to open a web browser and log in to instagram.com from either desktop or mobile.
  3. Visit Instagram’s ‘Delete Your Account‘ page.
  4. Once you’ve logged in, go to the Delete Your Account page.
  5. Select the reason for deleting your Instagram account permanently from the drop-down menu.
  6. Type your password and permanently delete your Instagram.
  7. Once you’ve selected an option, you’ll be asked to re-enter your password to confirm.
  8. After you’ve chosen a reason and entered your password, an option will appear to permanently delete your account.
  9. Click ‘Permanently delete my account‘ and your account will be gone for good.

keep in mind: your profile, photos, videos, likes, comments, or any followers you have will also be permanently deleted when your delete your Instagram account.

You should know that you cannot re sign-up with the username you’ve deleted. So you cannot make a new Instagram account later with that username.

Also, know that the account once deleted cannot be reactivated. So carefully think before doing such a thing.

Not ready to delete Instagram account yet? Well, we have got you covered.

You can deactivate your Instagram account temporarily without losing any content or followers and can reactivate at any time.

Cool. Right?

Let’s explore this option.

Read Also: How to Change Instagram Password

How to deactivate Instagram account

Just want a little break from social media but not parting ways with Instagram for good?

Then you can temporarily disable your Instagram account by deactivating.

The best part?

All your content will be safe, and you can reactivate at any time you feel right without struggling( this is also covered below).

 

Follow these steps to deactivate Instagram temporarily.

  1. Log in to your Instagram account and go to instagram.com from a web browser on your mobile or computer.
  2. There is no option available in the Instagram app to deactivate an account.
  3. Choose ‘Edit Profile‘ and click on ‘Temporarily disable my account.’
  4. Go to your profile screen and select ‘Edit Profile‘ on the top of the page.
  5. Once there, choose ‘Temporarily disable my account’ at the right corner of the screen.
  6. Enter your password and deactivate Instagram.
  7. Select the reason for deleting your Instagram account permanently from the drop-down menu.
  8. Once you’ve selected an option, you’ll be asked to re-enter your password to confirm.
  9. After you’ve chosen a reason and entered your password, the option to temporarily disable your account will appear.
  10. Click ‘Temporarily disable my account,’ and your account will be hidden till you reactivate

This feature hides all of your content and followers until you reactivate it by logging back in.

How to reactivate Instagram account

Want to come back from the break and rejoin the Instagram community once again?

Well, then you just need to reactivate your Instagram account.

To reactivate your Instagram account, all you have to do is just log in to your Instagram account again.

Go to instagram.com and log in with your username and password to reactivate your disabled account.

Your Turn