Deactivate Facebook Messenger

Deactivate Facebook Messenger

If you don’t want to delete or deactivate your Facebook account and still want to get rid of the messages you receive, then you can deactivate Facebook Messenger.

When you deactivate Facebook messenger, your profile stays live but you don’t receive messages anymore. Let’s see how you can deactivate your Facebook messenger account.

Deactivate Facebook Messenger

You can deactivate Facebook Messenger without deactivating your Facebook account. Here’s what you need to do.

  1. Open Facebook Messenger and log-in to your account
  2. Press your “Profile icon” on the top left corner of the screen.
  3. Click on “Legal and Policies” in the dropdown menu.
  4. Tap the “Deactivate Messenger” option.
  5. Enter your “Facebook Password” to confirm.
  6. Press “Continue to Deactivation.”

Your Facebook messenger is deactivated and no one will be able to contact you through it. Also, nobody will be able to see your status as well as your profile picture.

You can re-activate Facebook messenger just by logging in with your email and password again.

Update: Facebook has disabled this feature in the latest update. You’ll have to deactivate or delete your Facebook account until this feature comes back.

Read AlsoHow to Delete a Facebook Group

Bottom Line

Facebook is the best medium to connect with friends and followers. However great, sometimes it can become overwhelming. This guide will take you through the process of deactivating your Facebook messenger without deleting or deactivating your Facebook account.